December 14, 2020

Motor Vehicles


Click here to Renew your tags online!

Customers must renew in their own county, (as statute requires T.C.A. 55-4-105e)

Instructions to titling Vehicles

  • Current Residents
  • Used Vehicle – The following must be provided
  • New to Tennessee Residents
    • Vehicles without Lienholders you will need to provide:
      • Title to the vehicle
      • New to State Form (RV-F1300601)
      • ID (acceptable proofs) Tennessee or out of state driver’s license is acceptable
      • 2 current proofs of residency (acceptable proofs) Please make sure these proofs have the registered owner’s name and current Loudon County address.
    • Vehicles with Lienholders you will need to provide:
      • Current vehicle registration from previous state
      • New to State Form (RV-F1300601) with the lien holder information (Name & address)
      • ID (acceptable proofs) Tennessee or out of state driver’s license is acceptable
      • 2 current proofs of residency (
        acceptable proofs) Please make sure these proofs have the registered owner’s name and current Loudon County address.
    • Leased vehicles will need to provide:
      • Power of attorney from the leasing company for the vehicle
      • Current vehicle registration from the previous state
      • New to State Form (RV-F1300601)
      • ID (acceptable proofs) Tennessee or out of state would be acceptable
      • 2 current proofs of residency (acceptable proofs) Please make sure these proofs have the registered owner’s name and current Loudon County address.
  • Note: This is a general checklist and some title situations do require more documentation depending on the circumstances such as Trusts, etc. If you have a situation like this or something different then we advise you to call our office 865-458-2726 so we can ensure you provide any additional documentation that we may need.
  • Replacement title: The following must be provided:
    • Multipurpose Form signed by the vehicle owner (RV-F1315201)
    • Driver’s license
    • POA (RV-F1311401) if applicable
    • $11.00.
  • Replacement of Lost Tennessee Title: Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. No out of state titles. To obtain a replacement title, SF0968 has to be completed and signed by registered owner. A drivers license must also be provided. If owner chooses, he/she can choose to complete SF0968 (POA), which enables someone other than registered owner to obtain replacement title.
  • Noting of Lien: The following must be provided:
    • Tennessee title
    • Driver’s License
    • Security Agreement
    • Noting of Lien form (RV-F1315201)
    • POA (RV-F1311401) if applicable
    • $22.00
  • Selling of Vehicle: Registered owner of vehicle signs and prints his/her name and address as the seller. Only one signature is required on the title if registered  in two or more and is joined by “OR”. If joined by “AND” both signatures are required. The seller should never sign off of the title without their buyer completing their portion; this is known as an open title. This could result in penalties to the seller.
  • Handicap Placards
    • Handicap individuals must provide form RV-F1310301 completed by their physician.
    • Handicap Plate: $29.00/annually
      *To qualify for a handicap plate, the vehicle must be titled in the disabled person’s name.
    • Permanent Placard:
      • $26.50 (when applicant does not have a vehicle in their name)
      • No Charge (when the applicant does have a vehicle in their name)
      • Renewal fee (every two years)
        • $3.00  
      • Temporary Placard:
        • $10.00
      • Replacement Placard:
        • $2.00
Translate ยป